CALL 913.438.1112

Tag Archives: bankruptcy information

Bankruptcy Filing Fees Increase Effective November 1, 2011

Bankruptcy Filing Fees IncreaseThe Judicial Conference of the United States Bankruptcy Court has announced an increase in bankruptcy filing fees effective November 1, 2011.  The filing fees are paid directly to the court usually in full at the time a debtor’s case is filed.  The filing fee for a chapter 7 bankruptcy case will increase from $299.00 to $306.00.  The filing fee for a chapter 13 bankruptcy case will increase from $274.00 to $281.00.  All chapters of bankruptcy and miscellaneous filings have been effective.

Rising costs is nothing new to today’s debtors.  The website Gas Buddy reports gas prices per gallon for Kansas City at $2.21 in October 2006 to $3.30 in October 2011.  The Bureau of Labor Statistics website reports the following goods in October 2001 cost the following: loaf of white bread $1.01; 100% beef ground chuck $2.14/lb; dozen large eggs $0.92/dozen; red apples $0.90/lb; bananas $0.50/lb; and ground coffee $3.02/lb.

The cost of filing bankruptcy may have increased $7.00; however, for many debtors the benefits of filing for bankruptcy still greatly outweigh the costs.

Debtors contemplating debt relief and a fresh start need to contact a Kansas City bankruptcy attorney for a free bankruptcy consultation to get real answers.

Who Is a Bankruptcy Trustee?

Bankruptcy cases are overseen by the U.S. Trustee Program, which is a part of the Department of Justice.  The U.S. Trustee program oversees the administration of bankruptcy cases throughout the United States.  The states are divided into 21 regions.  The state of Kansas is included in Region 20, with the regional office located in Wichita,… Continue Reading

If I file bankruptcy can I keep my house?

When you file for bankruptcy any property you own will be classified as exempt property or non-exempt property.  Exempt property is safe during the bankruptcy.  Non-exempt property can be sold for the benefit of your creditors.  Each state is allowed to decide what exemptions are available to their residents. In Kansas, a Kansas resident is… Continue Reading